Special Programme in Science (SPS)

SPSians Awarded Silver at the Amazing Science-X Challenge 2016

Special Programme in Science (SPS) sent in 2 teams, the only representives from NUS, to the 2016 edition of Amazing Science-X Challenge on 23 to 25 August 2016. Organised by DSO National Laboratories (DSO), National University of Singapore (NUS) and Science Centre Singapore (SCS), ASXC 2016 once again challenges teams to design and build a stand-alone exhibit that best explains a physical science phenomenon.

Team Darkmoon, whose members were Max Tan Jin Hui, Amanda Ng Ren Hui, and Ang Zi Ning, demonstrated using piezoelectric crystal (which Max grew himself, by the way) as a speaker. Meanwhile, team MAD, which stands for the initial for its team member: Mavis Kang Pei Lin, R. Divya Poorani, and Ann Wee Wen, built a Lego setup to demonstrate Doppler effect on water surface. Both teams were awarded silver, which was the higher award given for the Category D (Open Category) where both SPS teams were competing in. In addition to the silver, team MAD also won the Log Book prize, which was a testimony to the team's diligence in documenting their scientific journey coming out with the exhibition.

While the students were bringing glory back to the university, so was the staff mentor of the teams. SPS Assistant Director, Andreas Dewanto, was one of the 3 team advisors who was awarded the inaugural Special Recognition Award to recognize SPS' consistent contribution to the ASXC over the past many years. Indeed, as Andreas said, "Since SPS first involved in ASXC in 2012, we never missed sending a team every year. And we never came home emtpy-handed. As of now, the medal tally is 2 golds, 2 silvers, and 4 special mentions. I attribute this success to the initiative and hardwork of the SPS students. When we are sending a team to ASXC, it is with the support and cheers from the whole SPS community."

Congratulations to Max, Amanda, Zi Ning, Mavis, Divya Ann, and Andreas!

Andreas receiving his Special Recognition Award from the Guest of Honor, Mr. Mohammad Maliki bin Osman.

Team Darkmoon, comprises of (from left to right) Max Tan, Amanda Ng (who presented herself via videoconference), and Zi Ning, receiving their Silver Medal from Mr Cheong Chee Hoo, Chief Executive Officer, DSO National Laboratories.

Team MAD, comprises of (from left to right) Mavis Kang, Divya Poorani, and Ann, receiving their Silver Medal from Mr Cheong Chee Hoo, Chief Executive Officer, DSO National Laboratories.

Team MAD, represented by Mavis, receiving their Log Book Prize from Prof. Sow Chorng Haur.